Rainbow in the sky

Got late last night as we had to complete the presentation due for today. The underlying tension was building up and it was more difficult to concentrate in this quiet room than in a noisy crowded railway station. I could barely get myself home and in bed, all that work, all that efforts, everything was riding on tomorrow. I needed sleep but it eluded me. It was going to be a long night and my brains went into an overhaul thinking of all possible ifs and if onlys. I twisted and turned in bed hoping the night sky to break into morning soon, at the same time never wanted this night to end. Was I afraid, I didn’t want to admit it to myself but I was. Who wouldn’t be in my situation?! It became more and more difficult for me to stop myself from thinking about being so close to having it all and then loosing it. Just then I heard a little chirping at the window behind me and realized that my eyes were shut. My eyes opened just as quickly and I sprung out of my bed all psyched to get done with this day, whatever it held for me. Putting on my coffee maker, I grabbed my towel and shot to the bathroom for a quick shower. I scrammed through my morning rituals, wrapped-up the place and locked the doors, all set to be on my way to work. Could if be the last day? The thought was unsettling. I took a deep breath, straightened myself and looked straight ahead the road. As I looked up, I smiled and all of a sudden I felt all calm, my thoughts coming together, I felt at peace. There, right in front of me was a rainbow in the sky.Rainbow by Priti Jha

One thought on “Rainbow in the sky

Leave a Reply

